Casting

toneelgroep Amsterdam (voorheen De Warme Winkel)

A tense and awkward audition

For years, Florian Myjer, Vincent Rietveld and Ward Weemhoff received invitations for castings for Dutch series, popular films, art-house projects and commercials. These almost encyclopaedic email inboxes together form a sample sheet of Dutch culture.

Each production was written with ambition, directed with heart and soul and financed wholeheartedly, but what picture emerges when you zoom out? What role patterns are confirmed or questioned? And why do we speak so highly of French, American and Danish film culture while the same is not true for that in the Netherlands?

A tense and awkward audition

For years, Florian Myjer, Vincent Rietveld and Ward Weemhoff received invitations for castings for Dutch series, popular films, art-house projects and commercials. These almost encyclopaedic email inboxes together form a sample sheet of Dutch culture.

Each production was written with ambition, directed with heart and soul and financed wholeheartedly, but what picture emerges when you zoom out? What role patterns are confirmed or questioned? And why do we speak so highly of French, American and Danish film culture while the same is not true for that in the Netherlands?

Casting will be a tense and awkward audition in which not just the leading actors will be evaluated, but the director, casting director and network manager as well. Power, appeal and artistic pride tumble over each other in this sincere but sharp analysis of Dutch culture.

It is the first time this new, three-person kernel has worked together so closely. The (final) direction is by the unparalleled source of inspiration for toneelgroep Amsterdam (formerly known as De Warme Winkel) Marien Jongewaard.

De Warme Winkel changes its name in toneelgroep Amsterdam

Since its establishment, De Warme Winkel has been looking for a name that better communicates what it stands for. Enthusiasts may associate their name with artistic adventure, but in general it creates a very different impression. Now a historical name became vacant that better communicates what they stand for and where they want to go, and that connects seamlessly with their oeuvre full of art historical quotes and appropriation, brutality and experimentation. From now on, De Warme Winkel is therefore called 'toneelgroep Amsterdam'.

Read less

dates

Mon June 20 9:00 PM

Tue June 21 9:00 PM

Wed June 22 9:00 PM

Fri June 24 9:00 PM

Sat June 25 9:00 PM

Sun June 26 9:00 PM

Wed June 29 9:00 PM

Thu June 30 9:00 PM

Fri July 1 9:00 PM

Wed July 6 9:00 PM

Thu July 7 9:00 PM

Fri July 8 9:00 PM

Wed July 13 9:00 PM

Thu July 14 9:00 PM

Fri July 15 9:00 PM

Prices

  • default € 20,50
  • CJP/student € 12

language & duration

  • Dutch

  • 1 hour