Stockhausen’s hypnotic masterpiece

Holland Festival Proms - MANTRA

Lucas en Arthur Jussen

You are looking at a performance from our archive

Karlheinz Stockhausen's MANTRA is a composition for two pianos, live electronics, and percussion which needs to be experienced live. Stockhausen wrote the piece in 1970 for the renowned pianist brothers Alfons and Aloys Kontarsky. Brothers Lucas and Arthur Jussen are now performing this landmark in music history at the Holland Festival Proms. The Jussens have been world-famous pianists specialised in classical repertoire since they were teenagers. But they also have a keen interest in contemporary music. This will be their first performance of this hypnotic masterpiece. A surprising festival debut.

This performance was made possible with support by