Luigi Nono's magnum opus, a tragedy for listening

Luigi Nono:
Prometeo. Tragedia dell’ascolto

Luigi Nono: Trilogy of the Sublime

Ingo Metzmacher, SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg, Experimental-studio des SWR, Schola Heidelberg

You are looking at a performance from our archive

For many music lovers there was life before Prometeo and there is life after Prometeo. It's difficult to overestimate the impact of Luigi Nono's masterpiece. The composer himself called this work which he based on the myth of Prometheus a ‘tragedia dell'ascolto’: a tragedy for listening. The whole piece is focused on the auditive experience. The soloists, choirs and orchestral groups perform on a specially built framework, positioned in different places and heights around the auditorium; their projected sounds are electronically manipulated live. The audience is enveloped in music which moves from bottomless depths to delicate heights, from soft, hesitant strings to deeply sonorous voices and overpowering harmonies, a unique world of sound in which an extraordinary, fascinating drama unfolds.
Programme Icoon

This performance was made possible with support by