Journey through a unique world of sound

Luigi Nono:
Caminantes … Ayacucho

Luigi Nono: Trilogy of the Sublime

SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg, Ingo Metzmacher, Experimentalstudio des SWR, Schola Heidelberg, Cappella Amsterdam

You are looking at a performance from our archive

'There are no roads, there is only traveling'. This is an aphorism which Nono came across on one of the walls of a monastery in Toledo. He subsequently used it as a motto for a trilogy which he composed in the final years before his death, in which he experimented with the interplay between space and sound, the use of electronics and tape and the spatial organisation of large orchestrations with multiple choral and orchestral groupings. The Holland Festival presents two works from this trilogy, interspersed with short works by the Venetian renaissance composer Giovanni Gabrieli, whom Nono regarded as a musical forebear, because of his use of 'cori spezzati', spatially separated choirs. The programme will take the audience on a journey through a sublime universe of sound which alternates subtle pianissimo movements with ominous percussion and bass, violent outbursts and heavenly harmonies. Music to fire the imagination.
Programme Icoon

This performance was made possible with support by