Avant electronic explorer Matthew Herbert brings twenty pianos to life in a virtual performance

20 Pianos

Dutch premiere

Matthew Herbert

You are looking at a performance from our archive

Twenty pianos from all over the world, each with its own timbre, tuning and history – from a Steinway at the Sydney Opera House to a battered old primary school piano and the instrument John Lennon composed Imagine on. In this composition by Matthew Herbert, icon of experimental electronic dance music, the pianos are all ‘ beamed up’ virtually.

With the use of the latest techniques, pianist Sam Beste turns a simple table into a virtual piano. As well as calling up the sounds of the original pianos, he also illustrates the pianos’ fascinating histories with photos and other documentation. The result is a Proustian evocation of piano memory, giving the featured instruments infinite depth.
Programme Icoon