Ashley Fure


physical activity of performing music and the chaos of raw acoustic material. Fure took her Ph.D. in composition at Harvard University and works as Assistant Professor at the music department of Dartmouth College. Ashley Fure has been recognised countless times for her work. A small selection: in 2011 Fure held residency at the Akademie Schloß Solitude. A year later she received a stipend in Darmstadt and a Staubach Honorarium from the same city’s International Music Institute. In 2014, she won the Kranichsteiner Composition Prize and Impuls International Composition Prize. After Fure was nominated for the Pulitzer Music Prize in 2016, she was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2017. She was awarded the DAAD 2018 by the organisation Artists-in-Berlin. Ashley Fure was commissioned to write compositions for major companies in Europe and the United States, which include the New York Philharmonic, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Modern, the Diotima Quartet, the International Contemporary Ensemble, Talea, the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, and Dal Niente. Recent projects include The Force of Things: An Opera for Objects, an intermedia opera that the New Yorker’s Alex Ross called ‘staggeringly original’ and ‘the most purely visceral music-theatre outing of the year’. Bound to the Bow is another project for orchestra and electronic instruments: ‘boldly individual’ according to The New York Times, and the ‘most arresting of the world premieres’ according to the New Yorker. The Danish Simon Steen-Andersen (1976) is a composer, performer, and installation artist. He studied composition with various teachers in Aarhus, Freiburg, Buenos Aires, and Copenhagen. Steen-Andersen resides in Berlin, and in his work he navigates between instrumental and electronic music, video and performance in different settings, and symphonic orchestras and chamber music, with or without multimedia. He gives solo performances, makes installations, and works as a director. These last decades, Steen-Andersen has focussed on integrating concrete musical elements in his work and on emphasising physical and choreographic aspects of instrumental performance practices. His work involves amplified acoustic instruments combined with samplers, video, simple everyday objects, or self-made constructions. Simon Steen-Andersen has received many prizes, which include the Mauricio Kagel Music Prize and the Siemens Composer’s Prize in 2017. He was also awarded the Nordic Council Music Prize, the SWR Orchestra Prize, and the Carl Nielsen Prize. Steen-Andersen has made works commissioned by ensembles, orchestras, and festivals such as ensemble recherche, Neue Vokalsolisten Stuttgart, the SWR Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Ensemble Ascolta, the JACK Quartet, Ensemble Modern, Oslo Sinfonietta, 2e2m, the Donaueschinger Musiktage, Ultraschall, the Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik, and ECLAT. He furthermore collaborated with ensembles such as Klangforum Wien, Collegium Novum Zurich, ICTUS, the Arditti Quartet, London Sinfonietta, Ensemble Intercontemporain, asamisimasa, and the Nadar Ensemble. Simon Steen-Andersen has served as a teacher of composition at the Royal Academy of Music in Aarhus since 2008. Since its founding in 1980, Ensemble Modern is considered one of the leading contemporary music ensembles. The group resides in Frankfurt and consists of twenty soloists of different nationalities. Its work and organisational method are unique: all projects, co-productions, and financial matters are collectively decided on. The company does musical theatre, chamber music, and orchestral concerts and makes dance and video performances. Its musicians regularly perform at renowned festivals such as the Salzburger Festspiele, the Wiener Festwochen, Klangspuren Schwaz, Musikfest Berlin, the MusikTriennale Köln, the Lincoln Center Festival in New York, the Festival d’Automne in Paris, the Lucerne Festival, and the Holland Festival. Each year, the ensemble adds around seventy new pieces to its repertoire, some of which are world premieres. The ensemble fostered longstanding collaborations with composers such as John Adams, George Benjamin, Peter Eötvös, Heiner Goebbels, Hans Werner Henze, Simon Steen-Andersen, Mauricio Kagel, György Kurtág, Helmut Lachenmann, György Ligeti, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Benedict Mason, Steve Reich, and Frank Zappa. Ensemble Modern recorded numerous CDs, many of which have won prizes. A considerable part of its CD production is done through its own label: Ensemble Modern Media. In 2003, the German Kulturstiftung des Bundes praised Ensemble Modern as a beacon of contemporary culture in Germany. That same year, the International Ensemble Modern Akademie (IEMA) was founded, at which a new generation of musicians are trained through a master program, master classes, composition work groups, and educational projects. Ensemble Modern is celebrating its forty year anniversary this year.